Oregon Roadtrip Part 3

After leaving the farm I headed north west to the northern most part of the Oregon Coast- Astoria.

I wanted to go to Astoria because I am a huge Goonies fan and it felt like starting at the top would make the most sense.

In Astoria is the best fish and chips- Bowpickers, a boat parked on a hill across from the Maritime Museum.  The looong line was well worth the wait.

Image

Image

My plan was the camp and bike around Fort Stevens State Park, an incredible place with a network of bike trails through spruce and hemlocks, and even a shipwreck.  But with summer still busy it’s camping spots were full so I headed south.  I ended up in Cannon Beach, a place I pulled off randomly to, which ended up being the place to stop- a beautiful beach full of sand dollars, art galleries, and lots of happy people!

Image

Image

Image

I stayed in Cannon Beach for the night, and then traveled south visiting the Tillamook Cheese Factory- yum to the 3 year aged white cheddar; and the Yaguina Head Lighthouse.  Then I was off to Bend!

One Response to “Oregon Roadtrip Part 3”

  1. Stacy Says:

    Ben and I loved Astoria when we went up last year. We also went there because of Goonies! Love all the pictures and love that you have included details about the food you consumed. That cheese sounds yum.

Leave a Reply

